Quick Cute Hair Bun

Standard

I’ve been growing my hair out for about a year and a half now. Most days, it just ends up in a ponytail because #1 – I’m lazy, #2 – I have 4 lovely, perfectly behaved children who always play quietly and nicely so that I have time to be perfectly coiffed, #3 – number 2 was a lie and you know it, and #4 – my hair has been officially diagnosed with Oppositional Defiance Disorder, so I pick my battles carefully. (Okay, maybe not officially.) In my efforts to not be frump mom when I volunteered in my daughter’s class, I decided to try out this very quick and easy low bun style.

THE RESULT

From the front
From the side
From the back

See that weird bumpage in the back? I wasn’t a big fan, but I was in a hurry the morning I did this, so I let it go. I kind of felt like I had trying-too-hard-old-lady-hair. It bothered me until early afternoon when I had time to quickly take it out and redo it with my standard twist down one side that keeps my slippery hair in order and I was much happier with it. But I don’t have a picture, so you’ll have to trust me on that.

WHAT I LEARNED

*It is extremely difficult to take an in-focus picture of the back of your head with a DSLR when you have short arms.

*I have to use twice as many bobby pins as most people to keep my hair in because there’s so much of it, but it’s so thin that it just slips out quietly (actually, I already knew this, just thought I’d share in case there’s anyone else in my boat)

THE VERDICT

It’s a good, easy hairstyle for every day and, with a bit more volume and time, could work well for more formal occasions as well.

2 responses »

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

