Chicken Cream Cheese Crockpot Stuff

Standard

I recently pinned this “easiest meal ever” and thought I’d try it out since I happened to have everything on hand. Except “1 can of Rotel.” I didn’t even know what that was and had to click on the picture to enlarge it so I could read the can. Turns out it’s a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. (PSA – If you’re going to post a recipe to the internets, please list the actual ingredients and not just the brand.) Anyhow, I didn’t have a can of “Rotel” but I did have diced tomatoes and I did have green chilies, so in they all went.

THE RESULT

After throwing it all in, it occured to me that there wasn’t much to add flavor, so I added some garlic powder and cumin because it seemed like a good idea.

WHAT I LEARNED

*I prefer food with a bit of flavor.

THE VERDICT

It was…okay. Not gross, but not delicious. My picky eater ate it after much persuasion and bribing. My not-so-picky eater had about 2 bites and decided she was full. My ought-to-be-a-food-critic husband said he thinks it would be better if the chicken went into the crockpot already having had some seasoning (which would mean you’d have to plan ahead enough to have thawed it). I agree. I think perhaps browning the chicken first with some onion and garlic and a bit of salt and cumin could do wonders for this recipe. I have to say though, that it was a bit better the next day. As is, I’d give it about a 5 or 6 on a scale of 1-10. (Yes, that’s actually how we are at my house when we try a new recipe – “So, what do you think?” “Maybe a 5.” “Yeah, me too.”)

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

