The Infamous Waterfall Braid

Standard

If you haven’t seen the waterfall braid floating around Pinterest, then you probably don’t actually have a Pinterest account. It’s E.V.E.R.Y.W.H.E.R.E. I’ve pinned it here and here and here, so I figured that I probably ought to finally try it. First you ought to know that it’s way easier than I expected.

THE RESULTS

Here it is after I did it. I quickly curled my hair first using a method I’ll be posting tomorrow (and that I now love). See how it stops right there in a weird place? My arms are short and I couldn’t figure out how switch them over to the other side without totally losing my strands, so that’s where it ended. And then the husband-man pointed out that it looked a little strange (which I knew, but was trying to deny to myself). When a man such as him notices that a hairstyle looks weird…it looks weird. So I had to figure out what to do with it now, and the next picture is what I came up with.

I took out the bobby pins holding the end of the waterfall braid down, braided it (normally) as far as I could and tied it off with an elastic. Then I pulled the rest of my hair into a loose side-ish ponytail, wrapped the braid around it and bobbypinned it in place. It kind of loses the effect of the waterfall though.

THE VERDICT

I *like* the waterfall braid, but I’m not quite sure what to do with it yet. Any brilliant ideas for  the hair-styling challenged? I’m not so talented enough in the hair department as to make it go all the way around my head. And even if I were, I wouldn’t know what to do with it once I finished.

So, have you tried the waterfall braid? How did you like it?

2 responses »

  1. saw a girl do this braid to her hair and couldn’t figure it out. she had it done on the top half of her hair, both sides. the two braids met in the back of her head and were pinned together. the ‘waterfall’ part and the bottom half of her hair were left loose. very pretty style.

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

