ZUMBA!

Standard

Okay, so let’s talk Zumba for a minute. (I can do that here because I created a Pinterest board just for Zumba.) I love it. LOVE. IT.

Since the beginning of the year I’ve been teaching a “Not a Zumba” class 2x/week for my church girls because I came to the following sad but true conclusion: I need to work out or I am crazy lady. (Shut it.) I will not work out unless 1 – I have a set time and 2 – someone is counting on me to be there. I love group fitness classes. Not having the $500+ to join a gym and attend the classes, I thought, what the heck, I can teach this! So I did. And I loved it. (Did I mention that?)

So at the end of the summer, I got licensed to teach Zumba classes for real. Like I can even call it a Zumba class. Oh yeah, I’m all official and stuff. Here’s cheesy me headed off in the wee morning hours to the training:

It was a long day of training, starting with an hour and a half long master class and then lectures and working on individual steps and lectures and reviews and a whole lot of booty shaking. Fortunately, there are no after pictures. You’re welcome. I was so. sore. the next day. But it was totally worth it! So now I’m all licensed and teaching at the South Summit Aquatics and Fitness Center and still teaching my church classes (which I just love the most) and loving it all. Mostly I love choreographing a new routine and then teaching it to a class and having them catch on and love it *almost* as much as I do. And while it’s not going to get me toned and muscle-y like weight lifting would, it’s a freakin’ good time dancing like a fool to loud music that makes me a little less of Monster Mom. And who couldn’t love a thing like that?

Have you ever been to a Zumba class? Did you love it? Hate it? What’s your favorite way to stay active? Do share.

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

