Halloween Sneak Peek

Standard

With Halloween just around the corner, I’ve been trying to get our costumes squared away. I’m not just a go-out-and-buy-a-costume-from-a-store kind of girl. Generally, I have to MAKE our Halloween costumes from things I find at thrift stores and on clearance racks and your basic craft supplies. You can blame it on my mother. No seriously, you can. Once, for a job interview at a preschool, she dressed up as Mother Goose. For a JOB INTERVIEW. Goose and all. Her costume skills are A. MAZE. ING. But I digress. The point is, I can’t buy a pre-made costume. It makes my insides turn. Well, unless I find it on a clearance rack or at a thrift store, of course.

So let me give you a little sneak peek into our costumes this year. But first, let me tell you a little about my little family and Halloween. We have a Halloween birthday in the house. We love to celebrate. We love to dress up. Even the husbandman does it. But we’re mean parents because, so far, we don’t let our kids be whatever they want. Oh no, we have to coordinate. There is always a theme. Always. In the past, we’ve been:

*Sesame Street: Oscar the Grouch, carried around in a garbage can by Bruce, accompanied by Cookie Monster
*A Disco Ball and 2 Disco Dancers
* A Butterfly, an Entomologist and his display board of bugs
* The Little Mermaid and Ursula with Chuck Noland and Wilson
* Fancy Nancy’s Family
* Sticks: a Stick Figure, Pick-up Sticks, Lipstick, Stickers, and Non-Stick
* Peter Pan: Tinkerbell, Captain Hook, the Crocodile, Smee, and Peter Pan’s Shadow
* Spooks: Grim Reaper, Witch, Vampire, Pirate, and Skeleton

(I was going to post pictures of all of those, but when I realized they weren’t on my computer anymore, I got lazy and you got a list instead. Sorry.)

Unfortunately (or maybe it’s a good thing), the kids started to have opinions about what we should be a couple of years ago.

I know, right?

But so far we’ve been able to at least keep a theme going.

And now onto this sneak peek I keep talking about. This is what I worked on today, via an old tutorial by Char from Crap I’ve Made:

Can you tell what we’re going as this year? That’s the only hint you’ll get for now! So, in Less Pinning More Doing fashion, I’m actually going to go ahead and give my schpeal about how the project went. Shocking, right?

THE RESULTS

Um, look up.

WHAT I LEARNED

*Freezer paper does, indeed, make a fabulous iron on stencil for fabric.

*If you want your image to be centered and straight on the fabric (say like, a t-shirt), you should probably measure and stuff or at least actually try to eyeball it before ironing that stencil on so you don’t end up with an off-centered crooked image on a shirt that has to be tucked in a little crookedly to not look terrible…not that I know anything about that. It’s just…you know, a good idea.

*I used basic white acrylic paint and applied it with a sponge and it worked great because I wanted it to be a bit uneven/distressed. I actually took some sandpaper to it afterward as well. I might sand it some more. If you want a nice, solid looking image, you might want to do spray paint or fabric paint or use an actual paint brush or something.

THE VERDICT

I love this! I thought it turned out great! I might start walking around my house finding things to stencil just so I can do it some more.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Halloween Sneak Peek Numero Dos* « Less Pinning More Doing

  2. Pingback: Look who’s back…back again « Less Pinning More Doing

  3. Pingback: Who Can Take Tomorrow…Dip It In a Dream… | Less Pinning More Doing

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

