Wanderlust Wednesday: The Northern Lights

Standard

What do you do when you live your life with a bad case of wanderlust on a school teacher’s budget with a husband who thinks that walking to the mailbox is satisfying enough? Besides become addicted to The Amazing Race, that is? (Side note: I’m totally going to be on that show some day. As soon as I feel like my kids are old enough to abandon for a month, I’m there. You just wait.)

What was I talking about? Oh yeah.

Create a Pinterest board of places you’ll never get to see, of course! There’s a little song that goes with my board:

I could wear out all my vocals
conferring with the locals,
in Africa or Maine.
And my itch I’d be scratchin’
While my travel plans were hatchin’
If I only had a plane.

Oh we could go and see
The ocean near the shore.
We could eat some things we never ate before.
And then we’d sit
And eat some more.

I could go by bus or bike,
Which ever way I’d like.
I’d even take a train.
And my passport I’d be fillin’
While the sights I saw were thrillin’
If I only had a plane.

Okay, enough of that. The point being, I think I have a nomad’s heart. With many kids and few dollars, I know my wanderlust will never be satisfied. And that’s okay. It’s worth the tradeoff. BUT (if you buy 3 completos), I’m starting a new thing here called “Wanderlust Wednesday” in which I will be posting things from my travel board. Or not. Might depend on the week. As you might have noticed already, I’m not exactly Mrs. Consistent. I’ll post a picture or something from the board and if I have something to say about it, I’ll do that too. But sometimes it will just be a picture.

For today, I’d like to share with you one of the things I’ve wanted to see for as long as I can remember…like since the day I found out it existed: The Northern Lights.

ac727f65c3b9dfbf5662b06f8143aea2

Stunning, right? Someday…someday.

Have you ever seen the Northern Lights? What is something in the world you’ve always wanted to see? Share in the comments!

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Wanderlust Wednesday: Subway, Zion National Park « Less Pinning More Doing

  2. They are definitely amazing, the way they dance through the sky! And if they are particularly active you can hear them too :) my favorite part of living in Alaska, you have to go someday!

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

