Caramel Apple Goodness Bars

Standard

I know, I know – 2 blog posts in one day?! But I just couldn’t help but share this deliciousness. I don’t really know what else to call these, but Caramel Apple Gooness Bars seemed a pretty dang good fit.

So this morning I was craving a treat, as all good sugar addicts do. We have a TON of caramel in the fridge that we made for caramel apples from this recipe. Side note: It was okay. Not my favorite caramel recipe, as I found it a bit too sweet (can’t believe I just said that) and it doesn’t set enough for my liking. Along with my craving for sweets, I wanted something that incorporated a bottom crust, like you would find on lemon bars. But I didn’t want lemon bars – I wanted to use that caramel. After a bit of looking over some bar recipes and a lot of my own imaginations, this is what I came up with:

Yes, I already ate one. And as soon as I finish typing, I’ll probably go eat the rest of them too, so you’ll have to make your own. I’ll even provide you with a little recipe. So here’s what I did:

Caramel Apple Goodness Bars
Crust:
1 cup flour (I used wheat, you can use whatever kind you want)
1 cup oats
3/4 cup packed brown sugar (I think I would take this down to a half cup if when I do it again)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Mix those together and then cut in 1/2 cup butter or margarine with a pastry cutter or a fork until it’s crumbly. Press it all into a greased baking dish. I think mine’s 8×8, but it could be 9×9 – I don’t actually know. Throw it in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.

After the 10 minutes is up, pull it out and sprinkle the following on top:
1 apple – cored, peeled, and finely chopped (the apples were an afterthought, but I’m so glad I added them!)
About 1/4 cup nuts of your choice (I used walnuts)
However many chocolate chips you want
About 1/4 cup caramel sauce drizzled on top. If your caramel is too cold to drizzle, put it in the microwave for 10 seconds or so and then have a go at it.

Throw it all back in the oven for another 20 minutes. When you pull it out, you can drizzle more caramel over the top. Or not. Let it cool completely before cutting. Unless you’re like me and can’t wait, then just make sure you use a fork to eat it so you don’t burn your fingers.

ENJOY!

2 responses »

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

