Wanderlust Wednesday: Biobay, Vieques, Puerto Rico

Standard

You know, as much as I complain about the cold here in the winter, I don’t spend a whole lot of time in the summer wishing I were somewhere else. It really is beautiful here in my little valley. But now that cold weather’s hit, it’s about time I got back to all that wanderlusting, don’t you think?

On today’s list of amazing places I hope to see some day: bioluminescent waters. This should be an easy sell for Mr. LPMD Biology Teacher, right?

For your viewing pleasure, I present Biobay in Vieques, Puerto Rico:
biobay-525b45df4203c38f2c00061a

This stunning scene is brought to you by single celled organisms called dinoflagellates. These fascinating variety of plankton emit a blue light when agitated at night, resulting in the glowing water seen here. And this is how we know Mother Earth is a woman…even she’s can’t resist a bit of glitter in her life. :D

Have you ever seen bioluminescent water? Where in the world was it? Do share.

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

