Halloween 2015: Big Hero 6!

Standard

This year for our family Halloween costumes, everyone voted to be Big Hero 6. Actually, everyone but me. I was NOT looking forward to figuring out just how we were going to make this a reality. Mr. LPMD was totally the one with the drive to get this done. And also Grandma. Without Grandma, we’d have no Fredzilla. So basically, other people worked on these costumes while I dragged my feet and whined and complained about the impossibility of it all.

But…as we were walking down the street watching our kids trick or treat last night, I turned to Mr. LPMD and said, “You, know, they actually look pretty dang good.”

“Yep,” he replied, “we did the impossible.”

Now I’m not claiming that we all looked amazing or Comicon ready (or even that the costumes are reusable!), but in the end, they turned out okay and all of the kids were happy.

So, without further ado, I give you….picture overload!

BigHero6

Can I just take a moment to point out how fierce the kids all are in that second pic up there? Because FIERCE!

GogoandBaymax

Hiro

HoneyLemon

Wasabi

Wasabi’s blades were made from glow sticks, double sided tape, and plastic wrap, and when it got dark, they actually glowed, which was pretty stinkin awesome. The glow sticks were totally my idea, so I’ll go ahead and take credit for that little stroke of genius. ;)

Fredzilla

The original plan was to paint this kid’s face to look like Fredzilla’s top eye. But come the day of, he didn’t want his face painted. And some things just aren’t worth arguing with a 4 year old about, ya know?

And a few bonus shots:

All 4 kidlets.

Boys

My boys.

HiroandBaymax

Hiro and Baymax.

I hope you all had a fabulous Halloween! Did you do a group costume? What did  you or your kids dress up as?

5 responses »

  1. Hi there! Is there any way you can share how you made Honey Lemon’s chest/shoulder pads and helmet? My daughter wants to go as her this year and I’m looking for quick and easy DIY tips. Thanks so much!!!

    • Hello Beth! For Honey Lemon’s “armor” I used a couple of different things. The breastplate was a lucky find at the dollar store. I bought of few of them and used them for several of the characters, spray painted accordingly. For Honey Lemon, I also sewed up a very, very simple vest out of orange flannel to wear under the breastplate so that it would go all of the way around her body. The shoulder pads were made from a pair of knee pads (like for skateboarding) that I found at a thrift store. I ripped off the fabric portion, spray painted as needed, and used adhesive velcro pieces to attach them to the breastplate. I hope that helps!

Have something to say? Please do! Comments make my heart happy!

